Or “Save the World, We Might Need It Someday”

I’ve let myself fall into some bad habits in recent years. Some of them, admittedly, because my health issues make it harder for me to do some things the way I would most prefer to do them. I look back at the way I used to do things, the way I still aspire to do things, and the kind of life I want to be leading, and my…well, I guess you’d say my legacy, the mark I want to leave in the world. One of the things I think about, and have thought about since I was a kid, is doing what’s best, what’s most sustainable for our planet. In those days, I don’t think we used words like “sustainability” as much as we do now. I had a great sweatshirt, which I loved, that said, “save the world, we might need it someday.” We talked about how the most important step was first to reduce our consumption of nonrenewable resources. Then (and only then, when we had pared down to using much closer to what we needed to consume than what we WANTED to consume) to reuse anything that could be reused, as many times as it could possibly be safely reused. After that, when things have been used and/or reused as much as possible – and in some instances, this does mean once – it’s time to recycle everything that can be recycled, and responsibly dispose of the rest. So, “responsibly dispose of” might mean “throw away in the garbage,” “take to a hazardous waste or medical waste collection site,” or it might mean “compost.”

I started out with such good intentions; and though I never managed to get on top of composting, I did fairly well with most of the rest, I thought, for a very long time. I shopped at thrift stores and yard sales, and shared hand-me-downs not just between my own kids, but with friends, as well. We packed lunches for the kids in reusable containers (which they did sometimes lose, but, honestly, they did all right, most of the time), and bought any packaged snacks they preferred in large containers and portioned them into small reusable containers, instead of buying individual packages. We avoided ziplock bags for the most part, and when we did use them, we washed and reused them. I made homemade cleaners and laundry detergent, muffins, cookies & granola bars for snacks, homemade bread… The kids’ Halloween costumes were homemade, I taught them to sew, and craft, and we all enjoyed figuring out ways to problem-solve and make what we already had work, or make it work better. We tried to live within our means, sustainably, and thinking not just about ourselves, but about the impact our actions would have on the earth, for others, and for future generations. We tried to live in a way in which we could thrive, while also helping to build and be part of a healthy, thriving world.

And then…I don’t know…

I got sick. Or maybe, sicker? Kids got older, and busier. Life got hectic.

Is it weird that it seems like I had more time to do all of these things when the kids were small, and I was working? I wasn’t exactly well then. I know I am less well now. I know I get tired more quickly than I used to. I also know I have gotten used to doing some things the “easy” way that I could easily do the more sustainable way; and today, I am going to start making some little changes that matter. Perhaps, following little changes, bigger changes will come more easily.

I like fizzy waters – you know, flavoured sparkling water. I started buying the ones in cans a lot more often during the pandemic. I first did it, I think, when I had COVID. I mean, before then, I would buy them for parties, because that’s easy for everyone, right? But we have a SodaStream that is sitting on the bar collecting dust. Do you know how many cans, bottles, and cardboard I could keep out of landfills if I go back to using that? Even if I’m the only one in the household who switches back to using it, that will make a difference. I’m not pressuring anyone else to switch. If the cans are easy for them, and they prefer them still, that’s fine. But I want to switch back to the Soda Stream. Besides, I like to add a little juice to mine, and mix up interesting combinations.

I’m going to try to stick with either laundry sheets that come in a cardboard package, or my own homemade detergent. Recently, I bought liquid detergent a couple of times, just because I needed some quickly, and I felt like the one we had wasn’t doing a great job. I’ll try not to do that again. I’d rather not add plastic jugs to a landfill.

I’ll keep using the Keurig, but I’ll use refillable filters. We have two (and I’ll get more, if other people in the household would like that). I’ll still buy the pods for anyone who wants them, but I try to always buy the ones that are recyclable, at least; and since I usually drink a cup of coffee in the morning, that’s about 30 little pods that won’t be used here. (Hey, it’s something)

Cloth napkins. We have TONS. I made a lot of them. We keep using paper ones, just because they happen to be handy. I’m going to keep the cloth ones washed and handy on the table. I’ll do the same with the cloth towels I made for the kitchen, and cleaning rags. It’s easy to grab paper towels because they are handy (and I will keep using them for some types of mess that just needs to go in the garbage), but there’s a reason we have washable towels, napkins and rags.

We aren’t carrying lunches much these days, so using ziplock baggies hasn’t been a big problem, but you know what is a problem for me? Starbucks. When they stopped letting people bring their own cups during the pandemic (which totally made sense, and I get it), I just kept going, and getting those plastic cups (yikes). I feel really bad about that. So, I am going to cut WAY back on the Starbucks stops, in general. Frankly, I wish they would consider switching to a more sustainable material for their to-go cups, as some coffee shops have. If more sustainable options exist, why not utilize them? When I do go, I can now take my own reusable cup again, so that helps, I guess – but it won’t un-use all the plastic cups I used, and I know that.

I want to shop at the farmer’s market more often, and prepare fresh foods, to avoid excess packaging whenever I can. Why do so many vegetables come packaged in plastic these days? I just want some broccoli! Okay, I’ll admit, sometimes, I really do want precut, prewashed broccoli…*sigh*…but I am going to try to be good, support local farmers, and buy regular broccoli, that’s not sealed in a plastic bag. I’d like to bake bread again. I want to get back to making real food, basically. I think it will probably save us some money, definitely make us feel better (from a health standpoint, but also about how we’re living in the world), and benefit the planet, as well, by contributing less to the mountains of garbage growing up around us.

Maybe these all seem like little things, but they’re little things I can do.

There are bigger things I want to do. I want to start composting (either at home, or by contributing to a community compost). I actually wish our city had us separate garbage for compost, as well, but I am sure some people would complain about that. I want to transform our landscape, so it is more drought tolerant, and includes more local, indigenous plants. My ideal plan would also focus on feeding pollinators. I would love to explore the option of using a greywater system to irrigate some parts of our landscape, if possible… but some of those things take a lot of time, and money, and work… However, now is not the best time for us to start making expensive plans, and I think we might all be ready for a little break from work in and around the house for a while.

So, for now, I will start small, but I’m thinking big, and working toward big goals. Wish I had my old sweatshirt. And I wish we’d saved the world way back then. We knew we were going to need it.

(This took me longer to type than anticipated, because Neo was suddenly very needy. He usually needs to be held and snuggled at least once during the day, and when he is feeling especially “baby,” he will hug me, and press his little cheek up against mine. I’ve discovered he quite likes when I sing “Cheek to Cheek” to him. Yes, the old Fred Astaire tune. Just call me “Ginger.”)

Neo the Kitten and me, dancing “Cheek to Cheek” while I wrote this