September ~ by Sam

Well, you see how long that “regularly updating” thing lasted.

For some reason, I have been overwhelmingly tired these past few days.  I will blame it on gremlins.  That’s it.  I must have gremlins.  I did manage to make my first pumpkin pie of the season Sunday night.  I started making it that morning.  I got this far:  img_2297But, first, I lacked the gumption.  Then, I lacked the time.  Finally, I lacked some of the ingredients.  Well, at least I got there eventually, and, at long last. We had pie.  img_2308But it really was at long last.  I pulled it out of the oven after 10pm, so we will ate it the next evening, after watching the 1st Presidential Debate.  (I thought we deserved a reward.)

I also bought an avocado tree on Sunday.  Our tiny little avocado tree just totally bit the dust.  We tried moving it, and, honestly, that was probably just a bad idea.  It was doing okay where it was, but it was in an inconvenient location (poorly chosen by yours truly); and we probably moved it at the wrong time of year, and inexpertly.  So, basically, we killed it.  We are tree-murderers.  I felt very deeply sorry about this, since I was the one who suggested moving it.  I also felt very disappointed at the lost promise of abundant homegrown avocados in my future.  I had found a tree I wanted to buy a couple of weeks ago, but it was attached to a large lattice, and would not fit in the back of my car.  See?  img_1959Nice, right?  But I drive a Prius V, which is sort of like a rounded off station wagon.  That thing is not going to fit in my car.  The avocado tree poses a challenge for us, because it needs to be of a variety that will not grow to be very large (Haas Avocado trees get HUGE), because we have a very small yard, but I do want one that is off to a very good start this time.  So, when I found a large, healthy-looking avocado tree of the same variety we had before (Bacon, which will max out at 10-12 feet high) in the garden section at Home Depot, I decided to bring it home.  In my Prius.  Because I am that woman.  You know, the one who drives home avocado trees in her Prius.  No, thank you, I don’t need any help.  I am doing… JUST.  FINE.  …thank you…  really …ooof…well….maybe just a little…img_2318

In between baking pies and lugging home trees, I managed to get in a little banjo practice, go see Hall & Oates at the Hollywood Bowl with Shane, and organize a messy little corner or two of our home.  img_2312This was such a little change, but I feel so accomplished!  It seems so logical now, but, for the first time since we moved here, the printer paper is under the printer.  This is revolutionary.  This will change everything.  If you could look closely enough, you would see that the shelves below the printer container white and coloured printer paper, lined paper, construction paper, and, on the bottom shelf, all of the unusual papers, cut bits, etc. that might come in handy for things like collages, posters, artwork, projects, and so forth.

On the other side of the Desk, I mounted three inexpensive little bulletin boards I picked up at Target.  Looking at this picture, I kind of wish I had lined them up straight, but my advisors on this project liked the idea of offsetting them, so that’s what I did.  I am still not convinced that was the best design plan, but they are functional, and that is what matters most.  Directly below them, I added a metal strip (I forget what this piece is called ~ I will look it up and edit later) so I could attach these magnetic containers from IKEA to hold paperclips and binder clips.  img_2299I feel like, if I just keep chipping away at it, maybe, someday, all of the mess will be managed.  It could happen, right?

Here’s a picture of the piece I added for the magnetic containers.  img_2303

I am still trying to find better solutions for all of the school supplies, and working out ways to help keep everyone organized.  Does it seem silly that I push the organization so hard?  It’s just that I have watched all of our struggles through the years, and I know that we all work best when everything is where it is supposed to be.  I think that is true for most people.  I don’t think it matters what your “system” is so much as it matters that you find a system that works for you.  Maybe, for some people, not having a system is what works.  I don’t know.  I do know I can’t operate that way.  I need to know that the scissors will be in the drawer where we keep scissors, and the paper will be near the printer, and the index cards will be where we keep index cards, and that, if I look on the shelf where we keep extra notebooks, and it is empty, it means I need to buy more extra notebooks, and not that there are 47 empty notebooks shoved in various nooks and crannies around the house.  (Not that I was stressed out by the lack of organization or anything.  No. Not at all. I was totally rolling with the punches.)

So, here I am today, Tuesday, September 27th.  School has been in session for over a month, and I am still not feeling quite like I have gotten into the swing of things.  I keep being late for pick-up.  The house is messy all the time, and dinner is seldom ready before eight…thirty…nine.  Dinner is seldom ready before nine.  And sometimes, it’s leftovers, or carry-out.  But I have made some steps in the right direction this week, and I will keep plugging away.

I keep seeing signs for seasonal employment at the malls, and wondering if I am ready to make that leap (or, you know, very gentle step).  I am not ready to go back to teaching, but maybe just a few hours a week doing some kind of work would be okay… I mean, the paycheck sure would be nice.

Well, for now, it’s just a thought.  We will see.  I have a pile of clothing blanks to tie dye and list on etsy, and a few other things I need to attend to before it is time to pick up kids ~ and I would like to get in a little banjo and piano practice, too, if possible.  Wish me luck!

Here’s a picture of the Australian Violets in my garden.  They are the reason I don’t mow this part of the lawn.  🙂img_2325

 

Leave a Reply

