Oops! I did it again. ~ by Sam

If you were following my “shorts” posts, you might have noticed I never posted the promised “graduation outfit” picture.  I didn’t forget.  It’s just that some things came up…and some went down…on to the tile floor…in the kitchen…with a resounding thud…and probably some cursing.  Just the one thing, really.  It was me.  I went down on to the tile floor in the kitchen, breaking my fall ~ albeit not very effectively, as it turned out ~ with my left hand.

It hurt, so I shook it off and took some Naproxen, because that’s what you do, right?

It still hurt, So I wrapped it in an ace bandage.

Three days later, with round-the-clock Naproxen and ace bandage, it still hurt, but I figured that was normal, given that I fell on it.  What wasn’t normal was the inability to grip things, turn doorknobs, depress soap dispensers…

So, I went in to Urgent Care.  Ah, Urgent Care ~ my sterile, uncomfortably-furnished home away from home!

I have a “suspected scaphoid fracture,” which means the doctor believes my scaphoid is fractured, but it didn’t show up on the x-ray.  This is the exact same type of fracture I had on the right side a couple of years ago, when I fell in the driveway.  I have mad skills, y’all.  I can fall anywhere, and I almost always break something.

I have been instructed to return in one week for a follow-up exam, and possibly more x-rays.  Oh, boy.

In the meantime, I get to wear this incredibly uncomfortable brace, night and day.  It’s very difficult to sleep in this thing, so last night was super fun.  However, the receptionist in radiology gave me little packets of graham crackers, so I guess it isn’t all bad.

Eventually, I will get around to wearing that new outfit, and I’ll be sure to have someone snap a picture.  In the meantime, a toast ~ “To tile floors and wide-legged pants!  Clearly, you’ve bested me.  Well done.”Photo on 9-10-15 at 7.58 AM

Leave a Reply

