Short and Shorter ~ by Sam

Today was the first day since Hallie and Kaia started school last Tuesday that I have actually been home while they were at school.  Shane has been working his regular job, plus 3 side jobs, so he has not been home much, either; and, when he was home, he was working.  Justice’s first day of college was this Monday.  I planned to pick her up after her classes and treat her to lunch, but, alas, it was not to be.  I had to make a delivery to Shane at his office, then drop off a forgotten notebook at school…I am not sure what else happened, but, as has happened every single day since school began, something came up.  Last week, it was an ant infestation in the dining room and bar. That was followed by an injured bird in need of help (I spent a day driving a bird to Compton).  It seems like there has just been one thing after another.

So, I get home with the kids, make dinner while they do homework, make sure everyone gets homework, laundry, dishes, etc. done, and, before I know it, it’s time to head to bed, so we can start all over again bright and early the next day.  To have a whole day with no real demands on my time was something of a luxury.  Naturally, I decided to use indulge by cleaning the house, mopping the floors, washing the slipcovers and baking snack cake.  In my defense, the house REALLY needed to be cleaned.  I did take the afternoon to have my hair done, which really was a luxury.  I usually dye my own hair, but I have been so overwhelmed by the messy house and my busy days that the thought of having to clean up after dyeing my hair was intolerable.  Also, we are going to a Bar Mitzvah this weekend, and I wanted to look okay, and didn’t have time to screw it up and have to fix it.  So, off to Floyd’s 99 Barbershop where, for $74, Ada cut and dyed my hair.  She insisted on the cut, and she was right ~ it is so much better.  I didn’t even mind having to pay for it, and you all know how much I hate spending money.

Now, I am home for a few minutes, so I will keep chipping away at the messy house.  It’s much better, but not great.  I want it to be great.  One little corner of it is pretty great.  See?

TidyPassThrough

That’s the pass-through from the dining room to the kitchen.  It’s too high to really function as a pass through on the dining room side, so it’s just this awkward window into the kitchen.  Shane seems to really like piling stuff on it.  (Sorry, honey, I have made other plans.)  Trust me, for us, this is tidy.

But, you know that feeling you get when you work really hard cleaning one room, and you are feeling super-accomplished….until you walk into the next room, where stuff is just everywhere.  So, you walk into the next room…and the cat has peed on the laundry hamper.  Yeah.  It was like that.  (Really, Cat?  The LAUNDRY HAMPER??)

I guess you could say today has been a mixed bag.  Somehow, I remembered to put on my shorts today.  For those who don;t know, I am in the midst of an experiment.  Having struggled with body image, low self-esteem and eating disorders, I have challenged myself to post pictures every day for about 9 days of myself in shorts.  If you want to read a little bit more about that, read my previous two posts.  Right now, I feel like I have been talking for a long time, so, without further ado, I give you:

Me, in shorts.  Day 3:

photo 2

This picture was taken right after I had my hair done.  The shorts are simple knit shorts with an elastic waistband.  I bought them some time ago, thinking I would wear them, but…well…sometimes I sleep in them.

Kaia snapped the picture for me, having met me at the salon, which is right down the street from her school.  Here we are being silly together, me and my favourite 7th grader:

Me&MyGirl

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

