How Soon We Forget ~ by Sam

So, after my exciting post yesterday, I awoke this morning, threw on a dress and dashed off to drop Kaia off at school. It was around the time I was dropping off Justice that I realized I probably wasn’t going to go home and change…and I wasn’t wearing shorts.  On Day 2 of my experiment, I had already blown it.  That seemed to show rather a dismal lack of commitment on my part, so, not so easily beaten, I devised a plan.  I needed to pick up a few things at Target, and Target sells shorts.  I decided I would improvise, and spend Day 2 trying on many styles of shorts.

Having realized after my last post that at least two pairs of my shorts might not be shorts at all (one comes to below my knee, so I think they’re out), I thought, maybe, I would find a pair or two at Target that I actually liked.  I made myself try a variety of styles, colours, and lengths, to see what I thought looked best.  In the end, I did not buy any, but I didn’t hate them all, so that’s a step in the right direction.

So, without further ado, I give you: Me, in shorts.

IMG_1494
Above, you see the first pair I tried.  They’re not terrible, I guess, but they aren’t really my style, either.

IMG_1495
Next, I tried these.  I was a little skeptical.  They look sort of like bloomers, I think.

IMG_1498
These ones were flowery, and…voluminous.  I think maybe a size too big?

IMG_1499
Dude.  I actually like these.  I like the length, the style, the colour.  The only problem is they are one size too big, I think.  The leg openings are a bit wider than they should be, and the waist gaps at the back.  I tried to take a picture of that, but it’s hard to get a photograph at that angle.  It pooches out much more than it appears in the pics, below.  I would say there was a good 2-3″ of air between me and the back of my shorts, which probably is not a good plan, if you don’t want to fall out of your pants.
IMG_1500IMG_1501

IMG_1503
Okay, these brightly printed ones, above, are kind of cute.  Maybe I should have bought them.  I even struck a silly little pose.  I think I like them because they almost look like a skirt, instead of shorts.  They are short, but not binding around my thighs.  The flamingo shirt was pretty fab, too, but I would probably only wear it in a Target dressing room.

IMG_1505
These were the shortest shorts I tried on today.  I felt pretty brave, even if I was in a dressing room all by myself.  They are so short that you can see the curve at the top of my thigh.  That’s the part I have the most trouble with.  Why, I do not know.  Thighs curve.  That’s totally normal.  But, you know, there’s that demon again, saying things it shouldn’t say.  Maybe I should have bought these ones, just to piss it off.  Maybe, then, I would have felt truly brave.

IMG_1506
I really wanted to like these last ones.  It’s hard to tell in the picture, I think, but they had a sort of lacy/crochet overlay, and a smooth black liner.  I think they were too big.  Maybe if they hadn’t been quite so big and floppy, they would have impressed me more.  They looked pretty on the hanger.  I think they make my legs look spindly, which is not something I ever thought I would say.  Also, it occurs to me that, years ago, if I thought a pair of shorts made my legs look skinny, I would have snapped them up, even if it was just that they were way too big and floppy.

So, that’s how my experiment went today.  At least I spent a lot of time looking at my thighs today.  I’m still working on it.  Who knows?  By the end of this experiment, I just might find I like shorts, and add them to my regular wardrobe rotation.  If nothing else, I spent a lot of time looking at my thighs today.  More than I usually do.  I might be getting used to them.  Only time will tell.  So many shorts, so little…fabric.

3 thoughts on “How Soon We Forget ~ by Sam

  1. Some of those shorts were so cool I want to go shopping now haha I have a pair similar to the last ones (at least from what I can see in the picture) and I wear them higher up with a singlet tucked in and like them like that cause they’re a looser fit 🙂 good job trying on all those shorts though, I know firsthand how difficult it is going clothes shopping especially for something that generally makes you feel self conscious. I know when I need to buy jeans I often only try on one or two pairs before leaving in tears which is silly given my biggest issue is I’m so short they don’t fit properly not my weight so I can’t even control the issue.

Leave a Reply

