Free Dresses, Dancing, and the Little Black Cast ~ by Sam

It’s been an interesting week.  Spent the first part of it trying to make sure Justice was (finally) enrolled in all of the classes she needs in order to graduate high school and get in to the college of her choice.  Cannot believe we have reached this stage of her life.  Seems like only yesterday she was lacing up her tiny, shiny red boots and yelling, “Tum on!  Let’s Det Doin’!” (“Come on!  Let’s Get Goin’!” for those who struggled with the translation.)  The college mail keeps arriving at the door, so it must be true.  Her future is bright, and, as much as we miss that tiny, spunky little girl, we are incredibly proud of the young woman she is becoming.

Hallie started rehearsals for her latest play this week, Into the Woods, in which she will play the Stepmother; and Kaia spent the night at the mall with her Girl Scout troop.  She has just bridged from “Junior” to “Cadet” Girl Scout, which is pretty awesome.

On Friday, I went in to the podiatrist for a check up on the foot I injured some time ago.  After 1 week in an orthopedic shoe, followed by 4 weeks in a cam boot, I had made no progress whatsoever, so the doctor decided to go ahead and put me in a cast.  After another 4 weeks, we will remove the cast and see how I am progressing.  I chose the elegant black cast, so I can attend my many soirees.  I jest.  There are no soirees; but I hear the black cast looks cool if you have people sign it with metallic markers.  Besides, they were out of the light blue I most wanted.

I’ve injured a tendon, and it’s tough to know how long it will take to heal, since poor circulation to my extremities due to Raynaud’s disease will slow my healing.  I have fashioned myself a few small toe cozies from socks, to keep the toes toasty warm, and, hopefully, speed along the process somewhat.  I am bored out of my skull, not being able to go for long walks or do all of the running around I usually do, but I am spending a lot of time practicing my banjo, looking for a few good books to read, and planning to take up my knitting again, so it’s not all bad.  I’m determined not to let it get me down, and to try to keep myself upbeat and active…at least in my upper body and my mind.  My foot’s a little sad, I think, and sort of claustrophobic.  However, it seems to feel much better in the cast than it did in the boot, which had two thick straps right across the injured area.

Later that day, I happened to pass the Gap, which was having a 30% off your entire purchase event.  I’ve been walking around for months with this $40 reward coupon I got from them for some reason, so I decided to go in and see if I could find anything I liked.  The young man there was super helpful in trying to find me some jeans that might fit over the cast, but, after 4 or 5 pairs, we were forced to give up the ghost.  I did, however, find two cute dresses in the clearance section, and, with the additional 30% off and my reward coupon, they were essentially free (I think I paid a couple of bucks , just due to tax).

Here is a picture of me in one of those dresses, at our daughter’s annual school picnic yesterday, dancing on one foot, to get a coupon for a free pretzel.  Y’all know how much I like free stuff.

DancesWithCast

Shane won a $25 Macy’s gift card at the picnic, too, which was a nice surprise.

Oh, and here is a picture of my foot, propped up on a pillow, where it ought to be for the first couple of days in the cast. CastFootPillow

On the up side, I am spending so much time sitting around practicing banjo that I should be a veritable virtuoso in, oh, I don’t know, five or six years.  🙂  But, hey, at least it is starting to sound like music!

Leave a Reply

