Is it worth it? Probably.

It would have been so much easier (and cooler) to order pizza for dinner this evening, rather than make our own; but we had the cheese, we had the sauce, we had all the ingredients to make the crust, we had toppings… It seemed silly (and wasteful) to buy it when we already had everything we needed. So, I started making the dough. I am tired. I am hot. I have a headache. I have had a frustrating week. And now I have to go finish making pizza that I probably won’t even eat. It’s okay. I’m sure I will feel better after a few minutes of kneading dough; the kids will get a slightly less junky dinner than they might have; and I will save us the cost of having a pizza delivered. That’s good, right?

If it turns out pretty, maybe I will come back and post a picture. If it turns out ugly, I might come back and post a picture, purely for the comedic value of ugly pizza.

So. There you have it.

Grumpy day. I am thinking pizza might help. I have another project waiting in the wings. If it turns out pretty…

Well, you know the drill.

EDIT:

That was quick!  Okay.  I was totally right about the kneading.  It’s like meditation.  Good for the soul, and, on a purely mechanical level, good for the still rehabilitating wrist and thumb.  So.  I think it’s going to be worth the effort, as I suspected.  Of course, because i was making the stuff, it did not go as planned.  Turns out, I lied up there.  We do not have toppings, unless you count cheese.  So, 2 cheese pizzas it is!  (I was going to do one cheese, and one with other stuff, too, but that would involve having other stuff.  I offered to make canned green bean pizza, but I don’t think the kids were impressed.  I also didn’t have 3 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, so I had to use about a cup of whole wheat flour to make up the difference.  See?   It’s going to be WAY better for them than delivery pizza.  Right??  Ha.  Yeah.  It’s health food.  But, hey, we have homemade crust, homemade sauce, real cheese ~ that’s not so bad, really.

I used this recipe:

In a large bowl, whisk together 2-1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast and 1-1/3 cups warm water.  Let stand 5 minutes.

Add:

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 t0 1-1/4 cups whole wheat flour

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 Tablespoon salt

1 Tablespoon sugar (optional)

Stir (or use electric mixer) for about one minute, until the dough kind of forms a ball.  Turn dough on to a floured board and knead for about 10 minutes, until smooth and elastic.  Oil the inside of the bowl with olive oil.  Return dough to bowl, turning once to coat all sides with oil.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place (awesome ~ the Valley is warm) until doubled in volume, 1 to 1-1/2 hours.

Punch down dough and divide in half.  Roll each half into a ball, then let rest, loosely covered with plastic wrap, for 15 minutes.

Preheat oven to 475℉.  Grease two 12-inch round pizza pans and dust them with cornmeal.

Flatten each ball into a 12-inch round.  Transfer to prepared pizza pans. press little indentations on the surface of the dough to prevent excessive bubbling, rush with olive oil, top, and bake until cheese is bubbly and lightly browned.

Done.  You made pizza.

You see my dilemma.  This is going to take YEARS!  The pizza delivery place could have had it here in seconds.  But this will be cheaper, and better for us, and it will probably even taste better, too.

Okay.  Off to that other project!

Back again!  Here is an out of focus picture of pizza.  One more cheesy, and one less cheesy, as per kids’ request.  They seem happy.
pizza2

 

I mean, the kids seem happy, not the pizzas.  The pizzas seem relatively yummy.  I just had a little bite of crust with the cheese pulled off, so I cannot speak with authority.

 

Leave a Reply

