Infinity Dress ~ a few notes ~ by Sam

Having successfully made my infinity dress, and successfully worn it to dance all night at a wedding, I thought I would come back and post a few notes and observations that might be helpful to others making the dress.

1. The fabric I chose was very lightweight and thin, which I love.  It really is dreamy.  It’s 100% polyester, and I love the way it moves, and the fact that it doesn’t wrinkle and stay wrinkled very easily.  That said, because I chose a very lightweight fabric, it can be a bit sheer.  I am small enough that I could easily go without a bra, so no worries in that department.  However, I did find that a set of those little flower thingies that stick on and camouflage nipples come in very handy with some of the variations of this dress.  If you need more support, you might want to invest in some kind of an adhesive bra.  I found this was not much of an issue, and there are many styles in which the fabric wraps more than once over my chest, which completely solves the problem.  If you absolutely need to wear a bra, you might want to consider making a coordinating tube top that you can put on as a base layer under your dress.  I will try to find a link that illustrates this idea, but, in the meantime, if you google it, you will see that some companies selling these dresses offer a coordinating tube.  A bandeau would also be a fine solution.

2. I measured my waist.  It was just shy of 25″, so I went with 25″ as my measurement.  Then, I divided by 6.28, and I got 3.98.  I rounded up to 4.  I cut my circle skirt, then I cut my waistband at exactly 25.  When I put it all together, the waistband did not overlap.  In fact, it did not quite meet.  I tried just not stitching it together, since the tutorial states that, apparently, a lot of people leave it open, but I found my dress slipped around a little too much while I was trying to wrap and tie it.  So, I pulled the end of the waistband together to barely overlap, then stitched them from the top of the waistband almost to the point where the waistband attaches the the skirt.  I did leave the waistband open for that last 1″, so there’s a little hole for me bellybutton.  The hole doesn’t matter, because no one ever sees that part of the dress, and it is much easier to wrap my dress with most of the waistband sewn together at the end, so it sits flat against my waist, and the back doesn’t keep slipping down while I am trying to get everything in place.  

My advice would be:
a) If you must round, round down, instead of up.  Working with knit, you have a little leeway, since it stretches.
b) Go ahead and cut your waistband just slightly longer than you waist measurement.  You can always cut off excess later.

3. I got so frustrated while trying to tape together paper to make my pattern that I decided to make my marks directly on the fabric, instead.  This method totally works, too.  Just make sure whatever you use to mark will wash out of your fabric, mark on the wrong side, and measure very carefully (I made a lot of marks).  I do somewhat regret not having a paper circle skirt pattern that I can reuse (I do have one somewhere, that I made some time ago, but cannot find it since we moved), so that is something to consider.  I have made the pattern before, and it is really not difficult.  I think I was just having a bad paper-taping day.

4.  Measure and cut the straps exactly as explained in the tutorial.  This might be the most time-consuming part of this project (well, this, and pinning), but it is worth it.  I found my rotary cutter made cutting the straps super easy.

5. I decided to sew mine all with one seam.  To do this successfully, first pin your straps in place, as described in the tutorial.  Then, fold your waistband in half lengthwise, and, on top of the straps, pin the waistband in place, with the raw edges attaching to the skirt, so they will be caught up in the seam.  I used a lot of pins to keep all of my edges lined up perfectly.  What I did was, when I pinned through all of the layers (waistband, straps and skirt), I would remove the pin I had previously used to pin the straps to the skirt, so I didn’t have pins between the layers.  I hope that makes sense.  

6. When you start sewing, proceed cautiously, and check often to make sure all of your layers are lined up the way they’re supposed to be.  If you do that, you shouldn’t run in to any problems.  

So (or is it “sew”?) ~ there you have it.  I found this to be a fairly simple project, and I am extremely pleased with the result.  Hope you make one of your own; and, if you do, I hope you share pictures, so we can see how great it looks on you.  

* Please see previous posts for a link to the tutorial I used to make my dress. 

Leave a Reply

