For ages, I have been waiting to buy fabric to make an “infinity dress.”  Do a quick internet search.  I’ll wait here.

Okay.  Got it?  So, it’s a convertible dress.  And it’s super cute.  And, it can be pretty expensive.  But…it’s SUPER cute.  I really want one.

So, I searched for tutorials.  They were confusing.  Then, I found this one:

Little Red Infinity Dress Tutorial

Okay.  That makes a little more sense to me.  All I have to do is buy 5 yards of fabric and…HOLY COW!!!  5 YARDS OF FABRIC?!?!!!  Do you know how much that will cost?!!

Well, it totally depends on the fabric.  Yesterday, I found this 100% polyester knit in a positively dreamy robin’s egg blue (my very favoruite colour).  It was cheap, at $5.99/yard.  Nevertheless, for 5 yards, that works out to be about thirty bucks, plus a few bucks more for matching thread.  Not bad for a nice dress, but I thought I could do better.

Then, I found this coupon:

http://www.joann.com/coupon/

No way!  60% off a single cut of fabric?!?!!  That means my fabric will only cost…um…not very much!!  So, I went and did it.  I bought my 5 yards of dreamy robin’s egg blue fabric and my matching thread.  The fabric came out to just under twelve bucks.  The thread was marked $2.99, but I think it must have been on sale, too, because my bill, with tax, was $15.01.

That’s fifteen dollars, and one cent.  Not bad for a whole nice dress.  At least, I hope it will be nice.  Only time will tell.

Think I can get in made in time for the wedding we are attending Saturday evening?  I sure hope so.  Wish me luck.

Oh, and, BTW, that coupon is good through today, August 29, 2013, but Jo-Ann is constantly putting out coupons.  My advice is to get on their mailing list and have them sent to your home, or, if you have a smartphone, get their app and access coupons right on your phone.  Don’t ever buy anything without checking to see if there might be a coupon.  you can also just check their website before you shop, and print up the coupons you need.

I’ll come back and post pics of the finished dress!

http://www.joann.com/

I can’t figure out how to post 2 photos at a time, so I will see if I can add a photo here.  This (if I do this correctly) is the first picture taken of my dress.  Hallie snapped this for me the first time I tried it on.

InfinityDress